jump to navigation

Traffic lights and blueberry muffins August 22, 2009

Posted by sugarandbliss in muffins.
Tags: ,
trackback

tdf blueberry muffins 2

Have you ever been stuck at a traffic light with your turn blinker on? For lack of anything better to do, have you ever tried to sync the rate of your blinker with the blinker of the car in front of you? I do sometimes. Today, I was stopped at a light in the turn lane, and the Camry in front of me turned on its blinker at the same time I did. And for the first thirty seconds, the signals flashed in sync. I grew increasingly excited as the seconds passed, for I had never found a car whose blinker worked at the same rate mine did. To my dismay, I watched as the togetherness of the lights began to fall apart and alternate instead. And so, the search for my blinker twin goes on.

On another note, do you ever try to make the wheels of your car pass between the little lane reflectors as you change lanes? I do that too.

Anyway, I was making blueberry muffins this morning, following a recipe I stumbled upon on allrecipes.com called “To Die For Blueberry Muffins.” I had bought a 2-pound box of fresh blueberries from the market the other day, looking forward to the chance to finally bake them into something. It was my way of rewarding myself after finishing my first round of midterms. Until today, I had never made anything with fresh blueberries. Just what exactly to make was the difficult part. I was debating between blueberry crumb bars, muffins, boy bait, cobbler, crisp… oh, the possibilities! I finally decided on making the muffins, seeing as it got rave reviews and didn’t require any butter. I’ve only one stick left and am saving it up for some sort of cookies. I’ve also had my eye on Dorie Greenspan’s Perfect Party Cake.

TDF Blueberry muffins

The recipe called for a streusel topping, but I was just too lazy to make it so I sprinkled them with turbinado sugar before popping them into the oven. (I know, a streusel is super easy to make, but I’m also super lazy sometimes.) It turned out ten beautiful golden brown muffins bursting with sweet (and some tangy) blueberries, with crisp sparkling tops from the sugar. The muffins were light and soft, without the density or greasiness of the store bought kind, and had just the right amount of sweetness to them. With the first bite into my muffin, I swear, I got the tangiest berry of the batch, but I was perfectly happy with that because it just shouted blueberry! My conclusion? Mission Blueberry: Accomplished.

Muffin wrapper

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

